MXGP: Herlings resounding retirement in Race 1. World championship reopened. Febvre wins and goes to +1

Midweek round for the Motocross World Championship in Trentino: crash and retirement due to technical problems for the Dutchman. Very tight race, according to Gajser: now there are three of them in just six points! Cairoli 3rd

That’s the beauty of Motocross: the last word is never said, even when there is a rider at the head of the MXGP World Championship in a state of form from another planet than everyone else’s. This is the case of Jeffrey Herlings, who in Race 1 of the Pietramurata GP, the midweek appointment of the fourth to last round of the World Championship, is forced to retire after less than 200 meters from the starting gate. And the Dutchman, good at building a margin of 24 points in the last few races, sees his advantage completely eliminated. Indeed, with Romain Febvre’s victory in the first heat, Herlings even loses the red plate. And Tim Gajser, with the second position in the first part of the GP, moves to -6 from Febvre and -5 from Herlings. All after 570 points and 14 and a half GPs. An extraordinary World Cup.

MXGP: Herlings out, sfida Febvre-Gajser

Twist at the start: the fall of Jeffrey Herlings (Ktm), unable to restart due to the damage suffered by his bike, reopens the World Championship. Holeshot of Jorge Prado (Ktm) ahead of Tim Gajser (Honda), Tony Cairoli (Ktm), Romain Febvre (Kawasaki) and Jeremy Seewer (Yamaha). The positions are mixed during the first lap, with Gajser in the lead and Prado who – not yet physically fit after the rib injury – must also give way to Febvre, with the Frenchman who in the meantime had put the wheels in front of them by Cairoli. The Sicilian, after a good battle with Seewer, goes to take and overtake Prado, while Gajser and Febvre study at a distance to the sound of record times. An uncertainty of Febvre in a left hairpin causes the Frenchman to lose a few seconds, to the advantage of Gajser – who can take a little breath – and Cairoli, who sees the Kawasaki rider closely. The Verdona rider increases the pace and closes the gap with the Slovenian, triggering a duel with the opponent at 5 ‘plus 2 laps from the checkered flag. A series of overtaking and counter-overtaking to the limit ends up rewarding the Frenchman, who passes under the checkered flag with an advantage of just one second over the Slovenian. More detached Tony Cairoli (Ktm), who obtained an excellent third place ahead of Seewer and Prado.

MX2: Vialle dominates, Renaux and Guadagnini fall

Holeshot number 16 this season for Tom Vialle (Ktm), who immediately imposed his own pace ahead of Jago Geerts (Yamaha) and Ruben Fernandez (Honda, author of the pole position). Bad accident between Stephen Rubini (Honda) and Thibault Benistant (Yamaha) even before turn 1, with the former falling to the ground and being hit by some bikes, including that of the Yamaha rider. The Honda rider needs the intervention of the medical staff to exit the track on a stretcher. Excellent start for Gianluca Facchetti (Ktm), sixth, while Mattia Guadagnini (Ktm) and Maxime Renaux (Yamaha) start off on the wrong foot, sailing around the 18th and 19th position. The Frenchman manages to recover and at 22 ‘from the end of regulation time he is already in the Top 10, while Mattia continues to struggle and the contact that sees him involved with Andrea Adamo (Gas Gas) and Jed Beaton (Husqvarna) makes everyone waste a lot of time how many. Renaux error at 18 ‘plus 2 laps from the checkered flag: Kay De Wolf (Husqvarna) closes the door and the World Championship leader finds himself off the track. No problem for the Frenchman, who returns to overtaking by drawing completely different trajectories from those that all the others do. In the final Geerts tries to put pressure on Vialle but the Frenchman wins Race 1 ahead of the Belgian. Third, but very detached, Fernandez, while Maxime Renaux closes 7th. Mattia Guadagnini is the best of the Italians with 11th place, 13th Facchetti ahead of Giuseppe Tropepe (Husqvarna). Emilio Scuteri brings the TM to 17th position, while Filippo Zonta (Honda) is 20th.

Motocross World Championship 2021, Pietramurata GP: MXGP Race 1 classification

1. Romain Febvre (Fra-Kawasaki)
2. Tim Geiser (Slo-Honda)
3. Antonio Cairoli (Ita-Ktm)
4. Jeremy Seewer (All-Yamaha)
5. Jorge Prado (Spa-Ktm)
6. Ben Watson (Gb-Yamaha)
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (Ola-Yamaha)
8. Thomas Kjer Olsen (Dan-Husqvarna)
Henri Jacobi (Ger-Honda)
10. Jeremy Van Horebeek (Bel-Beta)

Motocross World Championship 2021, Pietramurata GP: Race 1 MX2 classification

Tom Vialle (Fra-Ktm)
2. Jago Geerts (Bel-Yamaha)
3. Ruben Fernandez (Spa-Honda)
4. Rene Hofer (Aut-Ktm)
5. Isak Gifting (All-Gas Gas)
6. Wilson Todd (Aus-Kawasaki)
Maxime Renaux (Fra-Yamaha)
8. Kay De Wolf (Ola-Husqvarna)
Simon Laengenfelder (Ger-Gas Gas)
10. Mikkel Haarup (Dan-Kawasaki)

We would love to say thanks to the writer of this post for this amazing content

MXGP: Herlings resounding retirement in Race 1. World championship reopened. Febvre wins and goes to +1

Moustache Brothers